Angebote zu "Scientists" (25 Treffer)

Nucleic Acid Aptamers
77,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

This volume provides protocol references covering recent developments in the aptamer field. Within the last decade, aptamers have become more and more popular, and their sophisticated biophysical properties together with their ability to be easily modified and, thus, adapted to various regimens makes them a very promising class of compounds. Divided into three sections, the book covers selection, a series of analytical methods to assess biophysical properties of aptamer-target interactions, as well as various applications of aptamers. Written for the highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series, chapters include introductions to their respective topics, lists of the necessary materials and reagents, step-by-step, readily reproducible laboratory protocols, and tips on troubleshooting and avoiding known pitfalls. Practical and easy to follow, Nucleic Acid Aptamers: Selection, Characterization, and Application provides a state-of-the-art summary of recent developments in the aptamer field and will be a helpful resource for scientists in the life sciences working with aptamers as tools to elucidate biological systems.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 31.07.2019
Zum Angebot
Applied NMR Spectroscopy for Chemists and Life ...
44,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

From complex structure elucidation to biomolecular interactions - this applicationoriented textbook covers both theory and practice of modern NMR applications. Part one sets the stage with a general description of NMR introducing important parameters such as the chemical shift and scalar or dipolar couplings. Part two describes the theory behind NMR, providing a profound understanding of the involved spin physics, deliberately kept shorter than in other NMR textbooks, and without a rigorous mathematical treatment of all the physico-chemical computations. Part three discusses technical and practical aspects of how to use NMR. Important phenomena such as relaxation, exchange, or the nuclear Overhauser effects and the methods of modern NMR spectroscopy including multidimensional experiments, solid state NMR, and the measurement of molecular interactions are the subject of part four. The final part explains the use of NMR for the structure determination of selected classes of complex biomolecules, from steroids to peptides or proteins, nucleic acids, and carbohydrates. For chemists as well as users of NMR technology in the biological sciences.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 31.07.2019
Zum Angebot
The Scientists: A Family Romance , Hörbuch, Dig...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

This is a frank, intelligent, and deeply moving debut memoir. With the precociousness expected of the only child of a doctor and a classical musician - from the time he could get his toddler tongue to pronounce deoxyribonucleic acid, or recite a French poem - Marco Roth was able to share his parents’ New York, a world centered around house concerts, a private library of literary classics, and dinner discussions of the latest advances in medicine. That world ended when his father started to suffer the worst effects of the AIDS virus that had infected him in the early 1980s. What this family could not talk about for years came to dominate the lives of its surviving members, often in unexpected ways. The Scientists is a story of how we first learn from our parents and how we then learn to see them as separate individuals; it’s a story of how growing up quickly can slow us down when it comes to knowing about our desires and other people’s. A memoir of parents and children in the tradition of Edmund Gosse, Henry Adams, and J. R. Ackerley, The Scientists grapples with a troubled intellectual and emotional inheritance in a style that is both elegiac and defiant. Marco Roth was raised amid the vanished liberal culture of Manhattan’s Upper West Side. After studying comparative literature at Columbia and Yale, he helped found the magazine n+1 in 2004. Recipient of the 2011 Shattuck Prize for literary criticism, he lives in Philadelphia. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Michael Goldstrom. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/blak/005262/bk_blak_005262_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
Nucleic Acid Architectures for Therapeutics, Di...
59,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Nucleic acids (RNA and DNA) and their chemical analogs have been utilized as building materials due to their biocompatibility and programmability. RNA, which naturally possesses a wide range of different functions, is now being widely investigated for its role as a responsive biomaterial which dynamically reacts to changes in the surrounding environment. It is now evident that artificially designed self-assembling RNAs, that can form programmable nanoparticles and supra-assemblies, will play an increasingly important part in a diverse range of applications, such as macromolecular therapies, drug delivery systems, biosensing, tissue engineering, programmable scaffolds for material organization, logic gates, and soft actuators, to name but a few. The current exciting Special Issue comprises research highlights, short communications, research articles, and reviews that all bring together the leading scientists who are exploring a wide range of the fundamental properties of RNA and DNA nanoassemblies suitable for biomedical applications.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 10.08.2019
Zum Angebot
Merchants of Doubt: How a Handful of Scientists...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The U.S. scientific community has long led the world in research on such areas as public health, environmental science, and issues affecting quality of life. Our scientists have produced landmark studies on the dangers of DDT, tobacco smoke, acid rain, and global warming. But at the same time, a small yet potent subset of this community leads the world in vehement denial of these dangers. Merchants of Doubt tells the story of how a loose-knit group of high-level scientists and scientific advisers, with deep connections in politics and industry, ran effective campaigns to mislead the public and deny well-established scientific knowledge over four decades. Remarkably, the same individuals surface repeatedly some of the same figures who have claimed that the science of global warming is ´´not settled´´ denied the truth of studies linking smoking to lung cancer, coal smoke to acid rain, and CFCs to the ozone hole. ´´Doubt is our product,´´ wrote one tobacco executive. These ´´experts´´ supplied it. Naomi Oreskes and Erik M. Conway, historians of science, roll back the rug on this dark corner of the American scientific community, showing how ideology and corporate interests, aided by a too-compliant media, have skewed public understanding of some of the most pressing issues of our era. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Peter Johnson. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/adbl/002630/bk_adbl_002630_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
Phytoplankton Shells Get Acid Test , Hörbuch, D...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Armor-plated marine microbes surprised scientists a few years ago by recovering their shell-building prowess in the more acidic ocean conditions expected under future climate change. But those gains were short-lived, new research shows.´´Phytoplankton Shells Get Acid Test´´ is from the August 6, 2016 issue of Science News. 1. Language: English. Narrator: John N. Gully. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/pe/bosn/020111/pe_bosn_020111_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
Understanding the pH Level in Your Body to Prev...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The human body is composed of many mysterious things waiting to be unfolded. For years, doctors, scientists, and researchers have spent endless hours trying to understand how to maintain a healthy body, prevent diseases, and find treatments to known illnesses. A human body is composed of vital organs namely: the brain, heart, lungs, liver, and the kidneys. Every single one of them is composed of tissues which are made up of millions of cells. Inside those cells are fluids and electrolytes. The well-being of the vital organs is determined by the health of those millions of cells inside it. This audiobook will reveal intricacies of how simple electrolytes may be the source of wellness or can be the cause of harm to our body, how it happens, and why it happens. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Jessica Geffen. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/017840/bk_acx0_017840_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
The Modern Scholar: Global Warming, Global Thre...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The Modern Scholar series offers you college-level courses taught by the world´s most respected professors. As these expert teachers guide you through the course material, you become more knowledgeable and better versed in the subject. Learning has never been easier or more enjoyable! The issue of global warming has captured the attention of people worldwide over the past 20 years. Scientists studying the effects of human activities on the global environment today believe we are changing the climate of the planet on a global basis. We are warming the Earth, but are we risking the health of our planet? What are the negative consequences of these actions? This course will discuss the complex interdependent systems that regulate the environment of Earth. Also, this course offers listeners a comprehensive overview of the essential environmental issues of our time. Some of the issues discussed include: air pollution, acid rain, depletion of the stratospheric ozone, destruction of tropical forests, and impending climate changes. We will learn how greenhouse gases such as carbon dioxide (CO2), methane (CH4), nitrous oxide (N2O), and industrial chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs) have all played a significant role in what is happening to our world. At the end of this course, listeners will better understand the overwhelming impact of industrial pollutants on the planet. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Professor Michael B. McElroy. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/reco/000446/bk_reco_000446_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
Crossing Borders Crossing Boundaries als Buch v...
89,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Crossing Borders Crossing Boundaries:The Role of Scientists in the U. S. Acid Rain Debate Leslie R. Alm

Anbieter: Hugendubel.de
Stand: 08.08.2019
Zum Angebot