Angebote zu "Scientists" (26 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

Applied NMR Spectroscopy for Chemists and Life ...
44,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

From complex structure elucidation to biomolecular interactions - this applicationoriented textbook covers both theory and practice of modern NMR applications. Part one sets the stage with a general description of NMR introducing important parameters such as the chemical shift and scalar or dipolar couplings. Part two describes the theory behind NMR, providing a profound understanding of the involved spin physics, deliberately kept shorter than in other NMR textbooks, and without a rigorous mathematical treatment of all the physico-chemical computations. Part three discusses technical and practical aspects of how to use NMR. Important phenomena such as relaxation, exchange, or the nuclear Overhauser effects and the methods of modern NMR spectroscopy including multidimensional experiments, solid state NMR, and the measurement of molecular interactions are the subject of part four. The final part explains the use of NMR for the structure determination of selected classes of complex biomolecules, from steroids to peptides or proteins, nucleic acids, and carbohydrates. For chemists as well as users of NMR technology in the biological sciences.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 23.05.2019
Zum Angebot
The Scientists: A Family Romance , Hörbuch, Dig...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

This is a frank, intelligent, and deeply moving debut memoir. With the precociousness expected of the only child of a doctor and a classical musician - from the time he could get his toddler tongue to pronounce deoxyribonucleic acid, or recite a French poem - Marco Roth was able to share his parents’ New York, a world centered around house concerts, a private library of literary classics, and dinner discussions of the latest advances in medicine. That world ended when his father started to suffer the worst effects of the AIDS virus that had infected him in the early 1980s. What this family could not talk about for years came to dominate the lives of its surviving members, often in unexpected ways. The Scientists is a story of how we first learn from our parents and how we then learn to see them as separate individuals; it’s a story of how growing up quickly can slow us down when it comes to knowing about our desires and other people’s. A memoir of parents and children in the tradition of Edmund Gosse, Henry Adams, and J. R. Ackerley, The Scientists grapples with a troubled intellectual and emotional inheritance in a style that is both elegiac and defiant. Marco Roth was raised amid the vanished liberal culture of Manhattan’s Upper West Side. After studying comparative literature at Columbia and Yale, he helped found the magazine n+1 in 2004. Recipient of the 2011 Shattuck Prize for literary criticism, he lives in Philadelphia. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Michael Goldstrom. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/blak/005262/bk_blak_005262_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot
Phytoplankton Shells Get Acid Test , Hörbuch, D...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Armor-plated marine microbes surprised scientists a few years ago by recovering their shell-building prowess in the more acidic ocean conditions expected under future climate change. But those gains were short-lived, new research shows.´´Phytoplankton Shells Get Acid Test´´ is from the August 6, 2016 issue of Science News. 1. Language: English. Narrator: John N. Gully. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/pe/bosn/020111/pe_bosn_020111_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot
Merchants of Doubt: How a Handful of Scientists...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The U.S. scientific community has long led the world in research on such areas as public health, environmental science, and issues affecting quality of life. Our scientists have produced landmark studies on the dangers of DDT, tobacco smoke, acid rain, and global warming. But at the same time, a small yet potent subset of this community leads the world in vehement denial of these dangers. Merchants of Doubt tells the story of how a loose-knit group of high-level scientists and scientific advisers, with deep connections in politics and industry, ran effective campaigns to mislead the public and deny well-established scientific knowledge over four decades. Remarkably, the same individuals surface repeatedly some of the same figures who have claimed that the science of global warming is ´´not settled´´ denied the truth of studies linking smoking to lung cancer, coal smoke to acid rain, and CFCs to the ozone hole. ´´Doubt is our product,´´ wrote one tobacco executive. These ´´experts´´ supplied it. Naomi Oreskes and Erik M. Conway, historians of science, roll back the rug on this dark corner of the American scientific community, showing how ideology and corporate interests, aided by a too-compliant media, have skewed public understanding of some of the most pressing issues of our era. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Peter Johnson. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/adbl/002630/bk_adbl_002630_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot
Understanding the pH Level in Your Body to Prev...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The human body is composed of many mysterious things waiting to be unfolded. For years, doctors, scientists, and researchers have spent endless hours trying to understand how to maintain a healthy body, prevent diseases, and find treatments to known illnesses. A human body is composed of vital organs namely: the brain, heart, lungs, liver, and the kidneys. Every single one of them is composed of tissues which are made up of millions of cells. Inside those cells are fluids and electrolytes. The well-being of the vital organs is determined by the health of those millions of cells inside it. This audiobook will reveal intricacies of how simple electrolytes may be the source of wellness or can be the cause of harm to our body, how it happens, and why it happens. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Jessica Geffen. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/017840/bk_acx0_017840_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot
The Modern Scholar: Global Warming, Global Thre...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The Modern Scholar series offers you college-level courses taught by the world´s most respected professors. As these expert teachers guide you through the course material, you become more knowledgeable and better versed in the subject. Learning has never been easier or more enjoyable! The issue of global warming has captured the attention of people worldwide over the past 20 years. Scientists studying the effects of human activities on the global environment today believe we are changing the climate of the planet on a global basis. We are warming the Earth, but are we risking the health of our planet? What are the negative consequences of these actions? This course will discuss the complex interdependent systems that regulate the environment of Earth. Also, this course offers listeners a comprehensive overview of the essential environmental issues of our time. Some of the issues discussed include: air pollution, acid rain, depletion of the stratospheric ozone, destruction of tropical forests, and impending climate changes. We will learn how greenhouse gases such as carbon dioxide (CO2), methane (CH4), nitrous oxide (N2O), and industrial chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs) have all played a significant role in what is happening to our world. At the end of this course, listeners will better understand the overwhelming impact of industrial pollutants on the planet. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Professor Michael B. McElroy. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/reco/000446/bk_reco_000446_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 16.05.2019
Zum Angebot
Faint Echoes, Distant Stars: The Science and Po...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Our neighboring planets may have the answer to this question. Scientists have already identified ice caps on Mars and what appear to be enormous oceans underneath the ice of Jupiter´s moons. The atmosphere on Venus appeared harsh and insupportable of life, composed of a toxic atmosphere and oceans of acid - until scientists concluded that Earth´s atmosphere was eerily similar billions of years ago.An extraterrestrial colony, in some form, may already exist, just awaiting discovery. But the greatest impediment to such an important scientific discovery may not be technological, but political. No scientific endeavor can be launched without a budget, and matters of money are within the arena of politicians. Dr. Ben Bova explores some of the key players and the arguments waged in a debate of both scientific and cultural priorities, showing the emotions, the controversy, and the egos involved in arguably the most important scientific pursuit ever begun. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Stefan Rudnicki. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/adbl/002174/bk_adbl_002174_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot
Atmospheric Reaction Chemistry
103,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

This book is aimed at graduate students and research scientists interested in gaining a deeper understanding of atmospheric chemistry, fundamental photochemistry, and gas phase and heterogeneous reaction kinetics. It also provides all necessary spectroscopic and kinetic data, which should be useful as reference sources for research scientists in atmospheric chemistry. As an application of reaction chemistry, it provides chapters on tropospheric and stratospheric reaction chemistry, covering tropospheric ozone and photochemical oxidant formation, stratospheric ozone depletion and sulfur chemistry related to acid deposition and the stratospheric aerosol layer. This book is intended not only for students of chemistry but also particularly for non-chemistry students who are studying meteorology, radiation physics, engineering, and ecology/biology and who wish to find a useful source on reaction chemistry.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 23.05.2019
Zum Angebot
Weird Life: The Search for Life That Is Very, V...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Science that sounds like science fiction. In recent years, scientists have hypothesized life-forms that can only be called ´´weird´´: organisms that live off acid rather than water, microbes that thrive at temperatures and pressure levels so extreme that their cellular structures should break down, perhaps even organisms that reproduce without DNA. Some of these strange life-forms, unrelated to all life we know, might be nearby: on rock surfaces in the American southwest, hydrothermal vents on the ocean floor, or even in our own bodies. Some, stranger still, might live in Martian permafrost, swim in the dark oceans of Jupiter´s moons, or survive in the exotic ices on comets. Others - the strangest of all - might inhabit the crusts of neutron stars, interstellar nebulae, or even other spatial dimensions. In Weird Life, David Toomey takes us on a breathtaking tour of a universe of hypothetical life, a universe of life as we do not know it. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Eric Martin. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/adbl/012407/bk_adbl_012407_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot